Letters to Little One

Let’s Get Lost

Dear Little One,

I recently finished reading a book called “Let’s Get Lost” by Adi Alsaid and I wanted to tell you about it. Not to spoil it, just to let you know what it taught me. The basic premise is that a girl named Leila is going on a road trip to see the Northern Lights. The book is divided into 5 sections, each one dedicated to a person Leila meets and the adventures they embark on in their short time together.

As I read through the book, I came to a very important realization: there are lives happening all around us. This may seem obvious, but I think it’s really easy to get wrapped up in our own problems and forget. You never really know the type of day that someone is having or how much impact a little kindness can have on a person for the rest of their day or even their life.

One of my favorite quotes I got from the book was: “I urge you to please notice when you are happy.” A character quotes this line from Kurt Vonnegut’s book, A Man Without a Country, near the beginning of the book and it stuck with me to the end. Once I finished, I looked up the quote and found that in its entirety Vonnegut states: “And I urge you to please notice when you are happy, and exclaim or murmur or think at some point, ‘If this isn’t nice, I don’t know what is.’”

It’s a simple request really. To just notice those moments that feel whole. Peaceful. Great. So I encourage you to do so. For even in the mere days since I’ve finished the book, I’ve found myself among more happy moments than I could tell you about in this letter. It’s funny how when you open your heart to feeling happiness, your eyes are far more prepared to discover it around you.

 

See you soon.

 

Standard

Leave a Reply

