Letters to Little One

An Ordinary Day

Dear Little One,

About a year and half ago I made a calendar journal that I found on Pinterest. I took 200, 4×6 index cards, cut them in half, and then typed the date at the top right corner, separating the months with postcards. The idea is to write what you did on that date for as many years as the card will hold. That way, when the date rolls around each year, you can remember all the things you’ve done in the previous years. I loved the idea and I loved the way it turned out, I just didn’t anticipate how hard it would be to keep up with. I’m plugging along though, I always take the time to catch up when I fall behind.

One thing that I’ve noticed is my tendency to write “daily grind” on a number of ordinary, “boring” days. It gives me mixed emotions to see them pop up on the calendar. First it makes me kind of sad, because I’ll never know that day ever again, it just becomes lost in the shuffle, but then it makes me smile, because it means it was a day that I was working hard, with only minor troubles to speak of. It means that that day wasn’t one that I regret or block out, it was just an ordinary day, and there’s nothing wrong with that.

Today is an ordinary day. I worked my 8 hour shift at the shop, I came home and took a nap, and now I’m sitting on the couch in a pair of Kings’ socks, waiting for the game to start. In so many places in the world, this day would be considered great day, and I think it’s about time I start thinking that way as well. I am lucky to have had this day, and I hope I get to have many more.

See you soon.

Standard

Leave a Reply

