Letters to Little One

Flaws

Dear Little One,

I’ve been thinking a lot about flaws today.

I like to think of myself as an advocate for positivity, or at someone who strives for that title, and so I struggle on days when the only things I see in the mirror are the parts of myself I don’t care for. The parts I wish no one would ever have to see. The parts I wish weren’t parts of me.

I’ve found a number of flaws on and in my person over the 24 years of my life and I do my best, daily, to try and hide them. However, in thinking about them for a better part of my day, today, I’ve discovered that hiding them for all this time has done nothing but water the seeds of hate in my mind and destroy the buds of self-acceptance trying to grow in my heart.

That being said, I’ve decided to write you this letter, listing all of the things that I have tried to keep hidden. All of the things I wish were different, all of the “flaws” that I am ashamed of. With the hope that I can finally be rid of the power they have over me. It may not be a once all, fix all solution. I’m sure there will still be days when I see that familiar reflection of insecurity in the mirror. But perhaps I will finally be able to realize the warped representation of myself I have allowed my eyes to see.

-My hair is frizzy, terrified of humidity, and smirks at me in the mirror each morning as it challenges me to tame it.

-I have a chicken pox scar in the middle of my oily forehead and acne scars freckled about my oily cheeks.

-I have a mole on my neck and stomach that are dark brown and stand out against my pale skin.

-My arms jiggle when I wave.

-I have extra curves on my inner thighs, making skinny jeans a nightmare

-Cellulite dimples my legs with certain muscle movements

-My knees are…weird.

-I have boney ankles and a long second toe on each foot.

When you look at me, do you see these?

When you look at yourself, what do you see?

I can guarantee you I can see only you, just as you see only me.

Flaws are only flaws if you allow them to be, which is perhaps the biggest flaw in our world. We have all been made with a purpose, and are all made perfectly, and the sooner we see that, the sooner we can focus on more important things this life has to offer.

See you soon, beautiful.

Standard

Leave a Reply

