Letters to Little One

Makeup

Dear Little One,

I recently started using liquid foundation instead of powder.

(You’re welcome for that riveting update in my life.)

My skin has been a consistent conductor for self-conscious behavior in my life. I’ve had acne since 6th grade, but didn’t start wearing makeup until my junior year of high school. That may seem like a long time, but it was time better spent without worrying about my masking my complexion. I still did. I still craved a paper bag on my head when meteorites rested in my pores, but I got through it. I had good friends that didn’t notice my lack of perfect skin and I had boys like me in spite of it.

Once you put on makeup, it’s hard to not put on makeup. We create this person in the mirror with an even complexion, curled, dark eyelashes, and lined lips. We create them for the people outside. We create them for ourselves to, it adds confidence, but if you venture into the world without makeup the first thing you’re going to think is, “Well shit, I hope no one sees me.”  I hope no one sees me until I’ve returned home, covered my flaws, and blossomed into the world.  I’m not saying makeup is bad. I wear it every day. And I think makeup, if used in the right mindset, can be very beneficial.

That mindset, as I have learned over the years through experience and the testimony of others, is as follows:

  1. Wear makeup to feel good, not to look better.
  2. Wear makeup the way you want to, not the way you think you should.
  3. Wear makeup that keeps you looking like you.
  4. And most importantly, don’t wear makeup all the time. Keep a good foothold of who you are without the makeup, and don’t shame your fresh face. Remember you are beautiful without makeup. (This one is really hard, and it never stops being hard.)

Oh, and one last thing.

Sometimes you just need to let your skin sweat.

Makeup while you exercise? No.

Makeup at beach? Not necessary.

Makeup while you swim? No—unless you’re a synchronized swimmer, which if this is the case let me just take a moment to say, KUDOS, and I get it, it’s unavoidable. (Do people still say “kudos”? Actually never mind, I don’t care, I’m just going for it.)

See you soon.

Standard

Leave a Reply

